Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Newark and Sherwood: By-elections set for July 1 following series of resignations

District, town and parish council by-elections are set to take place on July 1.

It comes after the resignations of district councillors Irene Brown and Gill Dawn; town councillor Dennis Jones and parish councillor Keith Simpson.

Requests have been received to fill the vacancies for the Bridge Ward area of Newark and Sherwood District Council; the Devon Ward of Newark Town Council; and a representative for Bulcote Parish Council.


By-elections are due to be held on Thursday, July 1. Polling stations will be open from 7am until 10pm.

You can only vote if your name is on the Register of Electors.

Registering to vote

The current register was last published on December 1, 2020. If you are not registered to vote, have moved address, changed your name or nationality, you can apply to register online.

Applications should be made by Tuesday, June 15. If you cannot register online, please contact Newark and Sherwood District Council.

If you are already registered correctly, you do not need to register again for these elections.

For postal and proxy voting, click here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More