Home   News   Article

Candidates announced as Newark heads to the polls in May for Newark and Sherwood District Council elections

The candidates for the upcoming district council elections in May have been revealed.

Candidates for the Newark and Sherwood District Council elections on May 2 had until Wednesday to nominate themselves.

There are 39 seats up for grab next month across 21 wards.

Below is a list of who's standing in each ward, with the number of available seats in brackets.

Balderton North and Coddington (two)

Debbie Antcliff (Lab)

Betty Brooks (Con)

Johno Lee (Con)

Michael Patchett (UKIP)

Anita Prabhakar (Lib Dem)

Amanda Thompson (Ind)

Balderton South (two)

Lydia Hurst (Con)

Maxine Leigh (Lab)

Jeremy Taylor (Lab)

Ronnie White (Con)

Beacon (three)

Jonathan Brooks (Lab)

Naz Butt (Lab)

Esther Cropper (Green)

Rita Crowe (Con)

Andrew Freeman (Lab)

Jay Henderson (Green)

David Lloyd (Con)

Mathew Skinner (Con)

Jeffrey Thorpe (Lib Dem)

Bilsthorpe (one)

Rhona Holloway (Con)

Adam Murphy (Lab)

Boughton (one)

Brendan Clarke-Smith (Con)

Paula Hancock (Lab)

Bridge (two)

Irene Brown (Ind)

Gill Dawn (Ind)

Ian Harrison (Con)

Kevin Parnham (Lab)

Roy Williams (Con)

Castle (one)

Chris Adams (Lib Dem)

James Baggaley (Labour)

Richard Belam (Ind)

Keith Girling (Con)

Collingham (two)

Linda Dales (Con)

Maureen Dobson (Ind)

Marylyn Rayner (Lib Dem)

Devon (three)

Max Cope (Con)

Bob Crowe (Con)

Laurence Goff (Lab)

Simon Haynes (Con)

Dennis Jones (Lab)

Tracy Mathias (Ind)

Lucy Pegler (Green)

Ruth Woodhall (Lab)

Dover Beck (one)

Roger Jackson (Con)

Craig Pitchford (Lab)

Edwinstowe and Clipstone (three)

Gina Aldridge (Con)

Karl Beresford (Lab)

Anne Brooks (Lab)

Michael Brown (Con)

Scott Carlton (Con)

Paul Peacock (Lab)

Farndon and Fernwood (three)

Heather Cullen (Lib Dem)

Ryan Cullen (Lib Dem)

Roger Gannaway (Lab)

Neill Mison (Con)

Ivor Walker (Con)

Keith Walker (Con)

Moira Walter (Lib Dem)

Farnsfield (one)

Jackie Johnson (Lib Dem)

Bruce Laughton (Con)

John Pearson (Lab)

Lowdham (one)

Christine Gibbon (Lab)

Thomas Platt (Green)

Peter Scorer (Lib Dem)

Timothy Wendels (Con)

Muskham (one)

Darrell Pointing (Lab)

Sue Saddington (Con)

Vivien Scorer (Lib Dem)

Ollerton (three)

Lee Brazier (Lab)

Donna Cumberlidge (Lab)

Philip Jones (Con)

Fraser McFarland (Con)

Neal Mitchell (Lab)

Hannah Smith (Con)

Rainworth North and Rufford (two)

Louis Brailsford (Con)

Tom Smith (Con)

Andy Szpuk (Lab)

Linda Tift (Lab)

Rainworth South and Blidworth (two)

Kathleen Arnold (Lab)

Martin Atherton (Not specified)

John Cheesmond (Not specified)

Steve Jackson (Con)

Mark Wheatley (Con)

Yvonne Woodhead (Lab)

Southwell (three)

Malcolm Brock (Lib Dem)

Peter Brooker (Con)

Christopher Brown (UKIP)

James Dixon (Lab)

Geoffrey Handley (Con)

Peter Harris (Lib Dem)

Penny Rainbow (Con)

Stuart Thompstone (Lib Dem)

Sutton-On-Trent (one)

Sylvia Michael (Con)

Trent (one)

Roger Blaney (Con)

Robert Hall-Palmer (UKIP)

Jennie Mann (Lab)

Keith Melton (Lib Dem)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More