Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Girls musical talent shines...


A violinist has won a young musician of the year competition run by Newark and Southwell Rotary clubs.

Poppy Brewell (10) of Highfields School, Newark, won the final at Barnbygate Methodist Church.

She was among 14 finalists chosen from more than 40 entrants at junior schools.

Poppy received a trophy and a £20 WH Smith voucher from the president of Southwell Rotary Club, Mr Alan Hawkes.

Poppy, also a finalist last year, has been playing the violin for 21/2 years.

She is working towards her grade four exam.

A flautist, Rachael Sutton (10) of Coddington Primary School, was runner-up. She received a £15 voucher.

Rachael has been playing the flute for two years. She is working towards her grade five.

She plays for Nottingham Youth Orchestra, the school orchestra and sings in the school choir. She also plays the piano and the guitar.

David Hamilton-Richardson (11) of Holy Trinity Roman Catholic Primary, who plays the saxophone, was third. He received a £10 voucher.

David has been playing the saxophone for two years and is working towards grade five.

He plays in the school band as well as in a competition band, Music Machine, and with Musical Lincs, based at Cranwell.

George Burrage (11) of Holy Trinity Primary, who plays the cornet, was named best brass musician, and received a £5 voucher and a prize,sponsored by Newark’s Ransome Band.

The orchestra from Highfields School and the Bowbridge Primary School band performed at the final, as did the wind band from Holy Trinity Primary.

The Holy Trinity recorder ensemble and Coddington Primary School’s orchestra and choir performed while the judges considered the results.

The judges, Mr Brian Robins, Mrs Christine Hopkins and Mr Simon Kerwin, said the standard of every performance was very high.

The master of ceremonies was a Rotarian, Mr Richard Loynes. The chairman of Newark Rotary Club, Mr Paul Smith, presented certificates to all the finalists.

The other finalists were: Lucy Duckmanton, Nicholas Fisher and Dominic Kelly of Holy Trinity; Charlotte Proctor, Katie Liwoshko and Natalie Martin of Coddington; Miriam Fairhurst and Liam Horrocks of Norwell;and Laura Barnett of John Blow Primary, Collingham.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More