Home   News   Article

Newark MP Mr Robert Jenrick and Sherwood MP Mr Mark Spencer vote against government Brexit motion to extend Article 50

Local MPs voted against the government motion for an extension of Article 50 last night.

For the third day in a row, MPs voted on a series of Brexit motions in the House of Commons, which saw a government motion to extend Article 50 beyond March 29 pass by 413 votes to 202.

Newark MP Mr Robert Jenrick and Sherwood MP Mr Mark Spencer were among the 202 MPs who voted against the motion.


Mr Jenrick said: "I have always supported leaving the EU in an orderly manner, with a deal.

"I have voted for the only deal available, that of the Prime Minister, but it has not yet been supported by a majority in Parliament.

"I promised that I would do all I could to secure our departure on March 29 and if no deal were agreed, to leave regardless, and so I voted for that and against an extension to the process.

"I would prefer a deal, but the country voted to leave and we need to get on with it."


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More