Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Rushcliffe General Election 2024 results as James Naish ousts Ruth Edwards in major Labour swing

Labour has stormed to a shock victory in Rushcliffe, releasing a 54-year stranglehold on the seat by the Conservatives.

James Naish will become the first non-Tory MP in the constituency since 1970 after achieving 25,291 votes, 7,426 more than the incumbent Ruth Edwards.

Rushcliffe, known for its numerous rural villages, has long been a stronghold for the Conservatives, with Tory grandee Ken Clarke sitting as its MP for 49 years. However, in the midst of an expected national Labour majority win, many predicted its dominance would be broken at this year's election.

Newly-elected Rushcliffe Labour MP James Naish.
Newly-elected Rushcliffe Labour MP James Naish.

The winner was announced just before 2.30am at the Rushcliffe Arena in West Bridgford. Voter turnout in the area was 73.22% a decrease compared to 2019, which was 78.85%.

Ruth Edwards was defending the seat amid a predicted Tory wipe-out in Nottinghamshire, having been elected in 2019 with a majority of 7,643. She took over from Mr Clarke, who retired from the House of Commons following his controversial expulsion from the Conservative Party by Boris Johnson earlier that year.

James Naish fought his campaign while leading Bassetlaw District Council, a position he has held since September 2022. His deputy, councillor Jo White, is also aiming to become a Labour MP in Bassetlaw.

Greg Webb, who stood for the Liberal Democrats, achieved 3,133 votes, while Green Party candidate Richard Mallender, who is a Rushcliffe councillor for Lady Bay, got 4,367.

Two independent candidates, Harbant Sehra and Lynn Irving, also stood as candidates, achieving 186 and 549 votes respectively.

Below are the full results for each candidate:

Ruth Edwards (Conservative) 17,865

James Grice (Reform) 6,353

Lynn Irving (Independent) 549

Richard Mallender (Green) 4,367

James Naish (Labour) 25,291

Harbant Sehra (Independent) 186

Greg Webb (Liberal Democrats) 3,133

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More