Home   News   Article

Subscribe Now

Voters go to the polls in Nottinghamshire Police and Crime Commissioner and Nottinghamshire County Council elections

Voters go to the polls today in the Nottinghamshire Police and Crime Commissioner and county council elections.

Polling stations open at 7am and will remain open until 10pm for residents to cast their votes.

Eligible voters will have been sent polling cards giving details of their polling station.


The elections are taking place this year, having been postponed from 2020 because of the coronavirus pandemic, and measures have been put in place at polling stations to make them covid-secure.

This includes regular cleaning of equipment, use of hand sanitiser, social distancing and the wearing of face masks.

Three candidates will contest the Nottinghamshire Police and Crime Commissioner election.

Votes will be cast for candidates on May 6th (46170049)
Votes will be cast for candidates on May 6th (46170049)

Standing against current commissioner Paddy Tipping (Labour and Co-operative Party) is Caroline Elizabeth Henry (Conservative) and David Kenneth Watts (Liberal Democrats).

All 66 Nottinghamshire County Council seats are up for grabs. It is currently under Conservative control.

Candidates in the local seats are:

Balderton: Ryan Thomas Cullen (Liberal Democrats) Stephanie Louise Harrison (Green ) Johno Lee (Conservative) Craig Adam Newman (Reform UK) Dora Polenta (Labour) Lisa Ann Precious (Heritage Party-Free Speech and Liberty).


Bingham East: Rowan Bird (Independent); Francis Anthoney Purdue-Horan (Conservative) John Douglas Swift (Reform UK) Rachel Helen Wilson (Green) Zoe Wood (Christian People’s Alliance).

Bingham West: Ted Birch (Reform UK) Jonathan Neil Clarke (Conservative) John Coningsby Edwards (Liberal Democrat) Debby Merryweather (Labour) Chandler Pax Wilson (Green).

Collingham: Linda Elaine Dales (Conservative) Maureen Dobson (Indepen-dent) Steve Platt (Green ).

Cotgrave: Richard Langton Butler (Conservative) Giles Alexander Duncan Major (Liberal Democrats) David Anthony Nicholson-Cole (Green) Darren Thomas Stothard (Labour).

Farndon and Trent: Laurence Goff (Labour) Sharon Griffin (Heritage Party-Free Speech and Liberty) Robert Guy Michael Hall-Palmer (Reform UK) Keith Myers Melton (Liberal Democrats) Chris Platt (Green) Sue Saddington (Conservative).

Muskham and Farnsfield: Deborah Susan Antcliff (Labour and Co-operative); Phil Barron (Liberal Democrats); Esther Ruth Cropper (Green) Robert Bruce Laughton (Conservative).

Newark East: Jay Lewis Henderson (Green)Jennifer Kaye (Labour) Sam Thomas Smith (Conservative).

Newark West: Adrian Charles Amer (Independent) Keith Frank Girling (Conservative) Ricky Thomas Mathias (Green) Anita Prabhakar (Liberal Democrats) Ruth Woodhall (Labour and Co-operative).

Ollerton: Michael Andrew Brown (Conservative) Mike Poyzer (Green) Mike Pringle (Labour) Marylyn Rayner (Liberal Democrats) Jeremy Paul Spry (Independent).

Radcliffe: Martin Michael Murphy (Labour) Roger Glyn Upton (Conservative) Helga Margret Wills (Green) Adam Zbigniew Witko (Liberal Democrats).

Sherwood Forest: Scott Paul Carlton (Conservative) Steve Morris (Green) Paul Stephen Peacock (Labour) Julie Margaret Tasker (Freedom Alliance. No Lockdowns. No Curfews).

Southwell: Helen Elizabeth Clurow (Freedom Alliance. No Lockdowns. No Curfews) Roger James Jackson (Conservative) Karen Roberts (Liberal Democrats) Matthew Joseph Thomson Spoors (Labour).

In addition, there will be by-elections for seats on Edwinstowe Parish Council, Southwell Town Council and the Boughton ward on Newark and Sherwood District Council.

Boughton: Derek Mervyn Batey (Labour) Jeremy Paul Spry (Independent) Tim Wildgust (Conservative).

Edwinstowe: Nigel Jeremy Booth (Conservative) Linda Jane George (Labour) Julie Margaret Tasker (Freedom Alliance. No Lockdowns. No Curfews).

Southwell North: Peter Michael Brooker (Independent) John Light-wood (Liberal Democrats).

For more on the county council elections, go to https://www.newark-sherwooddc.gov.uk/mayelections2021/

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More