Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Injury scare for Dixon

More news, no ads



Newark’s Adam Dixon narrowly escaped a serious injury which could have meant a premature end to his summer season.

Dixon was forced off during a Euro Hockey League game for Beeston Hockey Club against Belgian outfit Waterloo Ducks, sparking fears that he could miss the World Cup and Commonwealth Games.

But the GB star, who has won the English Hockey League with Beeston and represented his country in the World League Final in India this season, escaped with ankle ligament damage that was less serious than first feared.

The former Newark Hockey Club player is one of several waiting to find out if they get picked for the England squad for the World Cup in The Hague, Netherlands, from May 31 to June 15.

There are 18 places in that squad and 16 slots available for the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow at the end of July.

Newark Hockey Club picked out their best players of the year at the end-of-season awards.

The men’s 1sts were honoured with the Nottinghamshire Fair Play Club of the Year award and also took the overall Midlands award.

After matches, umpires assigned from Midlands Regional Hockey Umpiring Association give a score for teams’ behaviour of players on the pitch and their sociability before and after the game.

Newark were top in Nottinghamshire and were the only team in Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire, and Derbyshire to take a clean sweep on both scores, resulting in the award of the Midlands title.

Club awards: Men’s 1sts, top goalscorer: Nick Crouch; players’ player: Sam Smith; captain’s player: Benjie Groome; most improved: Lewis Humphrey.

Men’s 2nds, top goalscorer: Simon Higgs and Nick Southall; players’ player: Tom Broome; captain’s player: Steve Littlewood; most improved: Andy Smith.

Men’s 3rds, top goalscorer: Josh Dent; players’ player: Max Prentice; captain’s player: Tom Sheldon; most improved: Dean Clarke.

Ladies’ 1sts, top scorer: Megan Beard; players’ player: Laura Donaldson; captain/coaches’ player: Kate Lambert; most improved: Katie McMunn.

Ladies’ 2nds, top scorer: Ann Crockett-McLean; players’ player: Caz Hauton; captain/coaches’ player: Megan Cocker; most improved: Millie Hill.

Ladies’ 3rds, top scorer: Sophie Chambers; players’ player: Jackie Nullis; captain/coaches’ player: Vicky McMunn; most improved: Hannah Bond.

Clubman of the Year: Andy McMunn; Christine Ferguson Award: Sarah Pask: Team of the Year: Mens 2nds.

Newark Junior awards: Under-8 and beginners, most improved: George Hobson; player of the season: Sophie Munro.

Under-10 Girls, most improved: Zara Littlewood; player of the season: Jessica Sheldon.

Under-10 Boys, most improved: Anakin Young; player of the season: Thomas Bett.

Under-12 Girls, most improved: Hannah Laughton; player of the season: Izzy Wells.

Under-12 Boys, most improved: Theo Inman; player of the season: Max Lockwood.

Under-14 Girls, most improved: Hannah Broomfield; player of the season: Charlotte Staniforth; Chris Shakespeare Trophy: Emilie Pymm.

Under-14 Boys, most improved: Louie Higgins; player of the season: Luke Pearce.

Under-16 Boys, most improved: Robbie Pearce; player of the season: Kieran Mepham; Fair Play Shield: Hattie Simmons.

Under-16 Girls, most improved: Amy Wilson; player of the season: Millie Hill.

Overall Coaches Award: Thomas Middleton.

Services to the club: Ellie Laughton; Laura Donaldson; Harry Beedham; JJ Beedham; Hattie Simmons; James Racaldin.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More