Home   Sport   Article

Newark Alliance Football league remains three divisions

By Connor Thompson

The Newark Alliance will keep its three division system following a decision at the league’s annual meeting.

Two scenarios were presented to club representatives at the meeting ­— a two league system and a three league system.

The two league format proposed a Premier Division consisting of 13 teams and a First Division with 14 teams.

RHP's Conor Scott (green) and Newark Town's Daryl Price (blue). (13353959)
RHP's Conor Scott (green) and Newark Town's Daryl Price (blue). (13353959)

Each team were proposed to play each other twice, meaning 24 and 26 league ties in the respective divisions.

The three league system, which continued last season’s format, had nine teams in each division, with promotions and relegations following on from last year’s results.

To ensure there is a sufficient amount of fixtures, each team will play each other three times, a system used in Scottish football.

The three league system narrowly edged the vote, with 12 clubs voting in its favour, while nine voted against ­— club’s not present did not vote.

A change in the league cup format was also made at the meeting, with the mini-league system to determine semi-finalists being scrapped and replaced with a straight knockout style competition.

The divisions in full are as follows:

Premier: Newark Town, RHP, Wheatsheaf United, Walesby, Holy Trinity, Newark Flowserve, FC Genes, Collingham (promoted) and Witham Wanderers (promoted).

First: Barkestone (relegated) East Bridgford, Grove FC, Robin Hood Colts, Farnsfield Villa, Old Magnusians, Rose And Crown (promoted) Laxton Athletic (promoted) and RHP Reserves (promoted).

Second: Bottesford (relegated) Newark Flowserve Reserves (relegated) Sutton-on-Trent, Bleasby FC, Fernwood, Team Knowhow, Newark Cavaliers, Holy Trinity Reserves and Newark Town Reserves (new).

Read more

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More