Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

Reigning Newark and District Double Board Darts League champions Railway Club and Newcastle Arms Youngers hope to retain titles

More news, no ads


The reigning champions in both the men’s and ladies’ divisions of the Newark and District Double Board Darts League will be looking to retain their titles as the leagues resume after the Christmas break with both teams unbeaten and in pole position.

Railway Club, who have yet to taste defeat after winning the men’s league and cup double in their debut season without suffering a loss, currently hold a 12-point lead over last season’s runners-up Rose and Crown Marauders after eight straight wins including an important 4-1 victory over their closest rivals.

The two sides meet again in mid-February in what could be a pivotal match in the destination of this season’s crown.

Railway Club will also be looking to retain the cup and will be in the semi-final draw alongside the Marauders, Wheatsheaf 501s and Castle and Falcon Phoenix.

In the ladies division, Newcastle Arms Youngers are on course to secure a remarkable 15th league title as they currently hold an 11-point lead over their nearest rivals, Caffs Ladies, and have games in hand after an unbeaten run which stretches back to the 2018/19 season.

The Youngers will also be hoping to retain the knock-out cup as they look to win the trophy for a 13th time but Castle and Falcon Ladies, Falcoholics and Railway Club Artists, who join them in semi-final draw, will be hoping to stop their domination.

The second half of the season will also see the individual competitions with John Esam and Karen Whittaker both expected to be in the hunt for a third consecutive singles title as will Martin Fryer and Kieran Cumberland in the men’s pairs competition.

Jane Radforth and Debbie Braithwaite are the reigning ladies pairs champions while Paul Gallacher and Dawn Cumberland currently hold the mixed pairs crown.

Monday night will see six players competing at the Newcastle Arms in matchday four of the Premiership singles league and could be a significant night as it includes the current top three plus unbeaten Stuart Glover, who is currently lying in sixth place but has three games in hand.

Cumberland, who is looking to claim the title for a fourth time after success in 2015, 2018 and 2020, is currently top of the table ahead of 2006 champion Stewart Smith and Brian Coughill.

Other players involved on Monday include seventh-placed Dave Thompson and eighth-placed Matthew Glover, who also has three matches in hand.

The remaining players in contention for the title are 2012 champion Simon Cobb, in fourth, fifth place Andy Norris, Paul Thompson (ninth) and league debutant Alan Powe (tenth) who is still looking for his first win.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More